A Life of Adventure

31 Dec

A Life of Adventure: Adventures with UPS

An original online story (Please don’t hate me for my writing errors)

CHAPTER 1

As each day of my dreary little life seems to muddle on into infinity, I start to contemplate a new one. A life of adventures and excitement, far from this desk I currently call “home”. To my left, the same clock that’s been tick tick ticking for the last two years of my life continues to drone on in my ears. A mind-numbing reminder that my life is not what is should be.

Sometimes I like to sit at my desk and let my eyes blur a little. It’s my favorite past time. But then my solace becomes quickly interrupted by my Coworker’s voice which sounds worse than nails on a chalk board. It feels like claws slowly dragging down inside of my chest pushing me a little more towards insanity every day. I often imagine myself coming unglued. That sweet moment in which I can give her a real piece of my mind, but of course I can’t. Waffle is the biggest snitch in this place, but by no means is she the only one.

You may be wondering, Why does she call her coworker Waffle? To be honest, I can’t remember anymore. My friend and only ally in the office, Sweet Cheeks, and I came up with the name at some point to avoid any class action suits or copywrite infringements.

On this particular day though Waffle would not shut up. She talked nonstop about her dumb kids and how inconsiderate her husband is, all the while completely unaware that maybe she is the problem in her stories. Sweet Cheeks and I often steal secret glances at each other as if to say, ‘please make her be quiet’ or ‘it’s your turn’, but neither one of us wanting to take on that burden.

We both proceed to keep our backs to Waffle and make it look like we’re busy working. You would think the girl could take a hint, but of course she doesn’t. I steal another glance at the clock in the bottom right hand corner of my computer screen. It currently reads 10:29 A.M.

Only one and a half more hours until a sweet half hour of freedom. 

Suddenly I’m jolted from my daydreaming by an exaggerated cough from behind me. My cue from Sweet Cheeks that something is afoot. I turn my chair slightly to the left inconspicuously and look behind me, trying to figure out in which direction today’s latest eye candy or horror show may lie. Sweet Cheeks eyes widen and she motions with her head to look across the waiting room towards the OBGYN’s front desk. It was eye candy.

This was the moment I first laid eyes on our new UPS delivery driver. He finished delivering a package to the girls at the OBGYN then promptly turned and walked across the room towards me.  He was a young olive skinned man, with black curly hair complementing his face. His eyes seemed kind but when his eye’s met mine it was too much to bare and I quickly pretended to be looking at something interesting on my computer.

My face became increasingly red hot as he stopped in front of me to ask for my signature. My eye’s were sure to remain adverted. He didn’t speak much and I quickly matched my shyness with his. I hurriedly did my usual single swipe signature across the device he handed to me and handed it back. When he asked for my last name our eyes met and the sound of his voice alone was enough to send my head and heart racing. My face was heating up again and he was forced to ask me a second time for my last name before I finally answered. After a quick smile from the right side of his mouth he quickly spit out, “Thank you”, and away he went.

My mind continued to race as I turned slightly in my chair holding my hands to my near sunburnt cheeks. With a horrified look upon my face, Sweet Cheeks smiled knowingly at me.

“He’s cute,” she said a little too loudly.

I reached for my water bottle in the most serious of tones and stated, “I need to go get some cold water. Be right back.”

Sweet Cheeks let out a light giggle that was sure to have caught Waffle’s attention. When I left the room I heard Waffle attempting to coerce top secret information about my love life out of Sweet Cheeks. I smiled to myself knowing that the bonds of our friendship wouldn’t be broken by the likes of her.

Leave a comment